Tags

, ,

Day 6

 

 

~~~~~~

Sunday morning we slept in.  And by “slept in” I mean Ricardo slept and I sat in bed watching tv and tried to keep the kids quiet.  Jimmy wanted to get in bed with us but he can’t sit still or be quiet to save his life so I said no, several times.  It wasn’t necessarily all about him being in bed with us but he’s been having difficulty being obedient lately so I’ve been having to stick to my guns when I tell him to do something or not to do something.  Consistency is the name of the game – and it’s a bloody hard game to play sometimes.  So along with saying no I also told him to go to his room and play, again several times.  Finally I had said it enough times and in a sufficiently dark tone of voice that he gathered his toys and turned to go to his room.  Then he stopped, half turned back to me and with a reproachful look said “Mamma I love you very much” and turned again and went to his room.  That little stinker!  He was deliberately trying to guilt trip me!

~~~~~~

I’ve discovered something new about Lilly in the past week.  She does not like food on her face.  I’ve been feeding her bits of food off my plate now for the past several weeks and she will eat pretty much anything.  But if you don’t get the piece all the way in her mouth she will feel the slightest smear on her lips and use her little fist to push the food in her mouth or try to wipe the smear off.  So girly of her!

~~~~~~

Joey has a girlfriend!  Her name is Eva and I don’t know nearly enough about this girl but that hasn’t stopped Joey from asking for her when she’s not at the sitters and kissing her when she is!  Ricardo saw it with his own eyes yesterday – kissing right on the mouth!  I think Eva is even younger than Joey is so that has got to be the cutest thing ever to see!

~~~~~~

Jimmy likes to make sure Lilly has plenty of toys to play with and will go to war with Joey for taking one away from her.  But then he’ll tell me that Joey is his “brudder” and to be nice to him.  Then again he’ll bring me the wooden spoon because Joey has an “attitude” and needs powpow.  He told Lilly goodnight the other night while I was rocking her.  He sat down beside me and kissed her, rubbed her back and said “goodnight sweetie” and then told me “hers a sweetie”.

~~~~~~

Lilly is learning to give kisses already! They’re big open mouth kisses like Joey’s still are but with a lot more drool than his.  They are the sweetest thing ever.

~~~~~~

I’ve never seen a kid be as much a daddy’s boy as he is a mamma’s boy like Joey.  He’s as equally attached to me as he is to Ricardo.  He’s going through a little phase of jealousy or needing more attention, whichever you want to call it, and rushes to be the first in line for hugs and kisses and then throws a fit if you put him down when he’s not ready.  He’s soooo ornery too.  He got into it with Jimmy one morning this week at the sitters right after Ricardo dropped them off, didn’t like what Jimmy was doing (whatever it was), grabbed his little reclining/rocking chair and threw it a him!  They both have tempers but in two completely different ways.  Jimmy’s  temper has a self-righteous edge to it while Joey’s is just completely volatile.

~~~~~~

I have little mini-shocks multiple times a day with Lilly.  How can a little girl look so much like both of her brothers? And simultaneously look only like herself?  She’ll look up at me with Joey’s eyes and give me such a start and almost immediately change her expression into one that is so classically Jimmy and then smile her Lilly smile and leave me staring at her in shock.  I can’t stop squishing her and kissing her every time I hold her.

~~~~~~

Just a few of the moments in my life that I treasure.

